Gallery: Wildlife Photographer of the Year winning entries

And you thought your Instagram account was great.

Meryl D'Souza October 25, 2016

The Natural History Museum's annual Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition is one of the most prestigious photography contests in the world. This year, the competition received over 50,000 entries from 95 countries. 

Participants are asked to submit a story in just six images after which a panel of experts decide winners based on each participant's story-telling capabilities and individual quality of the submitted images.

Winners for this year’s edition were revealed last week and the winning entries are on display at London’s Natural History Museum. American biologist and photojournalist, Tim Laman, was named the overall winner for his image "Entwined Lives" (main image).

Laman won for managing to capture the endangered Bornean orangutan in the rainforest of the Gunung Palung National Park, West Kalimantan in Indonesia. Laman took the picture with his GoPro Hero4.

Check out all the other winners from this year’s Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition below.

The aftermath
Photographer: Simon Stafford
Category: Mammals

Eviction attempt
Photographer: Ganesh H Shankar
Category: Birds

Little Treasure
Photographer: Marco Colombo
Category: Reptiles, amphibians and fish

The dying of the light
Photographer: Angel Fitor
Category: Invertebrates

Wing composition
Photographer: Valter Binotto
Category: Plants

Snapper party
Photographer: Tony Wu
Category: Underwater

The alley cat
Photographer: Nayan Khanolkar
Category: Urban

Spirit of the mountains
Photographer: Stefano Unterthiner
Category: Land

The sand canvas
Photographer: Rudi Sebastian
Category: Details

Star player
Photographer: Luis Javier
Category: Impressions

Requiem for an owl
Photographer: Mats Andersson
Category: Black and white

The pangolin pit
Photographer: Paul Hilton
Category: Wildlife photojournalist award (single image)

Entwined lives
Photographer: Tim Laman
Category: Wildlife photojournalist award (story)